What Is Oil Pulling?

http://nutritionfacts.org/2013/07/30/is-coconut-oil-good-for-you/

I want in on this popular craze.

(If you can call the rediscovery of an ancient Indian folk remedy a ‘popular craze’.)

It’s called oil pulling. Ever heard of it?

I’d briefly heard about this recurring trend every now and then (like when a celebrity divulges their newest beauty regiment) but I’d never given it much thought – until now.

A recent article I came across listed oil pulling as a simple detox. That’s when I started doing more research on it. I didn’t come across any scientific proof, but the numerous testimonials and studies I did find were all very consistent in their praises.

The list of ‘pros’ was almost too good to be true (I couldn’t think of any horrific ‘cons’).

Naturally, I question the accuracy of these ancient cure-alls as being a tad bit hokum but with an incredible list of benefits I figure what’s really the harm in trying?

Besides, I think it’s mandatory to have an ‘I think I can, I think I can’ attitude when it comes to trying natural homeopathic remedies.

So, what is oil pulling you ask?
Simply put, it’s the practice of using natural oils – like coconut or sesame – as a form of mouthwash. By swishing it around for 20 minutes, the oil will begin to draw out (or pull) all the harmful toxins from your body.

How to:
1. It’s a first-thing-in-the-morning kind of commitment so when you’re finally awake, drink a tall glass of water.
2. Take a tablespoon of coconut, sunflower, or sesame oil in your mouth and swish it around like a mouthwash for 15-20 minutes.
3. Spit it out, rinse and brush your teeth to get rid of any residue left over.

What are the benefits?

* Mouth & gum disease
* Stiff joints
* Allergies
* Asthma
* High blood sugar
* Migraines
* Bronchitis
* Eczema
* Heart, kidney, and lung disease
* Arthritis
* Insomnia
* Menopause
* The list goes on

My experience:

I’m only a few days into my experimentation with oil pulling, but I can already taste the benefits.

(Really, my mouth taste like coconuts in the morning.)

Because the rest of my post is a glowing recommendation for this technique, I’m going to take a second to list some minor complaints so you really know what you’re getting into.

  1. If you’re really not a texture person, BEWARE! I’m using coconut oil and the transition from a solid into a liquid is not something I particularly enjoy experiencing in my mouth.
  2. It’s a total mouth workout. You don’t realize how out of shape your jaw muscles are until you’ve got to swish oil around for 20 minutes.
  3. Finding 20 solid, undisturbed minutes every morning (Let’s face it, I’m not a morning person but I’ve mastered the art of scrambling into clothes and out the door in 15 minutes.)

However, I can say that I definitely plan on continuing this morning regimen. Now to get out of bed on time…

Leave a Reply

